Who we are

The Texas Ground Water Association was founded in 1947 to:

  • Assist, promote, encourage, and support the interests and welfare of the water well industry, particularly within Texas;
  • Foster, aid, and promote scientific education, standards, research, and techniques to improve methods of well construction and development and advance the science of groundwater hydrology;
  • Promote cooperation among well contractors and governmental and scientific agencies in properly developing and protecting underground water supplies; 
    The Association is operated under a Board of Directors elected by the membership. The Board of Directors consists of the officers, 12 directors-at-large, and a chapter director from each local chapter. There are three divisions of the board which include Contractors and Drillers, Manufacturers and Suppliers, and Ground Water Science. 
  • Encourage improvements in drilling and pumping equipment;
  • Collect, analyze, and disseminate information to the public on the role of the water well industry in the state and national economy; 
  • Advance the mutual interests of all engaged in the water well industry. 
TGWA works to accomplish these goals through a variety of educational and advocacy forums. It sponsors continuing education classes throughout Texas for licensed water well drillers and pump installers; holds an annual convention and trade show; publishes a quarterly newsletter with the latest on regulations, funding, research, and technology; and works as an affiliate member of the National Ground Water Association to promote communications at all levels of the groundwater industry.

Officers 2017-2018

President – David Rumbelow

President-Elect – Terry Lowe

Vice President – William McPike

Secretary-Treasurer – John Julian

Immediate Past President – Don McElroy

Chapter Directors 2017-2018

Central Texas - Ross Smart
East Texas - Open
Gulf Coast - Wendell Goss
Mid-Coast - Paul Rhodes
North Texas - Jaythan Browning
Panhandle/South Plains - Dale Ball
South Texas - Alex Neely
West Texas - Ron Stanley